Fall is Coming

The end of this class means that the school year is just around the corner! In just a couple of weeks I will be beginning my senior year at CU, and it just 9 short months I will be graduating and sent off into the real world. Where did the time go?! My senior year seems to have snuck up on me just as winter snuck up on all of the characters in Game of Thrones.

What’s Next?

This class has taught me a lot about how to present myself in a professional manner. Before taking this course, I had never really thought about having my own personal brand. As I begin the next phase of my life after college, I plan to continue to develop this brand. I will do this by focusing on my best attributes, and making sure I display those attributes whenever possible. I know that if  I can fully develop my brand, I will be able to stand out among applicants, and hopefully get a job I thoroughly enjoy.

The Real World

There is a drastic difference between the life we live in a college, and the life we live in a professional setting. This class has given me a lot of information about how to thrive in the professional world. I think some of the most useful information was about how to write an email that sounds good, and gets your message across. Just from my internship this summer I can say that emailing is the biggest form a communication in the work place, so it is vital that you know how to do it correctly. tamarcus-brown-131431

I also learned how to portray myself through my resume and cover letters. Unfortunately, when you apply for a job you only get to give them a snippet of who you are through your resume and cover letter, so it is very important to know how to sell yourself in just those little pieces of writing.

My Writing Style

The best part about writing classes is that you get to discover your own voice and style in writing. Through my blog posts, I have been pleased with how I have developed my voice. I am a pretty sarcastic, dry-humored person, which is not always the best in the professional world. However, through the several pieces of writing I have done throughout this course, I think I have been able to find the balance. I now can still use a bit of humor (like the GoT reference I made earlier) and still get my point across in a professional manner. I think this is an important skill to have in order to maintain professional while also creating relationships in the work place.

Where I Excelled

I think one of the things I did very well in this course was the writing for the website we created. I have often been a leader among my peers because I am able to relate to them while also informing and guiding them. Therefore writing pieces for other millennials was a breeze. I was able to use things like humor and references that we all know, such as different artists and music platforms to share information.

I am happy that this is an area I succeeded in. While doing research for the website I learned that by 2020 40% of the workforce will be millennials. Therefore, if I can communicate well with my generation, it will give me a big leg up in a future job.

The Wrap Up

Although this class was sometimes stressful and time consuming, I am very happy that I decided to take it. It has given me vital skills I will need when I become a “real adult” at the end of this school year. It has also given me confidence in my writing abilities and the way I portray myself in a professional manner. I also got the chance to work with and meet several other students, which is always a joy! While I can’t say I am sad the class is ending, I will say it has given me tools and information I will use for the rest of my professional career.

Leave a Reply

